Some Astounding Award-eligible writers

The Astounding Award for Best New Writer is sponsored by Dell, administered by the World Science Fiction Convention, and nominated by Attending and Supporting members of Worldcon. This year, members of Worldcons 80 (Chicago), 81 (Chengdu), and 82 (Glasgow) can nominate. The website for Chengdu is apparently up and taking credit cards, so if you want to vote for the Astounding, Lodestar, and Hugos, and/or partake in live or virtual convention programming later this year, that’s the link to click. (If you’re not already eligible, I believe you need to register by January 31 to nominate for the Hugo and Not-A-Hugo awards.)

The Astounding Award recognizes the best new writer on the speculative fiction scene, for somewhat arcane values of “new”—which is why nominators are advised to consult various sources to check eligibility—but the eligible author’s first qualifying work must have been published in 2021 or 2022.

For this particular list, I’ve used the Astounding Award site, the crowdsourced Hugo recommendation list maintained by Lady Business, and generalized word of mouth. Do keep your eyes open; there are other eligible authors, who may or may not shout about themselves before nominations close. I’ll shout some more in future posts.

Second (Final) Year of Eligibility

Shreya Ila Anasuya: shreyailaanasuya.com
Betsy Aoki: @baoki | betsyaoki.com
Warren Benedetto: @warrenbenedetto | warrenbenedetto.com
Charles Q. Choi: @cqchoi | cqchoi.com
Kel Coleman: @kcolemanwrites | kelcoleman.com
Kate Francia: @outoftheatlas | katefrancia.com
Harry Josephine Giles: @HJosephineGiles | harryjosephine.com
A. L. Goldfuss: @alicegoldfuss | blog.alicegoldfuss.com
David Goodman: @WordsByGoodman | davidgoodman.net
Alyson Grauer: @dreamstobecome | dreamstobecome.com
Thomas Ha: @ThomasHaWrites | thomashawrites.com
Kehkashan Khalid: @kmhassan2009
Isabel J. Kim: @isabeljkim | isabel.kim
Annika Barranti Klein: @noirbettie | annikaobscura.com
Jessica Lévai: @AuthorLevai | jessicalevai.com
Nic Lipitz: niclipitz.wordpress.com
C. E. McGill: @C_E_McGill | cemcgill.com
Lindz McLeod: @lindzmcleod | lindzmcleod.co.uk
Reed Mingault: @MilvusScribe | reedmingault.wordpress.com
Kiran Kaur Saini: kirankaursaini.com
Lynne Sargent: @SamLynneS | scribbledshadows.wordpress.com
Neil Sharpson: unshavedmouse.com
Eric Silberstein: ericsilberstein.com
Tehnuka: @tehnuka | tehnuka.dreamhosters.com
Aparna Verma: @Spirited_Gal | theaparnaverma.com
Ursula Whitcher: @superyarn | yarntheory.net
Eris Young: @Young_E_H | apiomancy.wordpress.com
Xiran Jay Zhao: @xiranjayzhao | xiranjayzhao.com

First Year of Eligibility

Megan Beadle: @MeganBeadle
Maya Deane: @mayadeanewriter | mayadeane.com
Gigi Ganguly: @gigiganguly | linktr.ee/gigsie
Andrew Gillsmith: Amazon
Naseem Jamnia: @jamsternazzy | naseemwrites.com
Ai Jiang: @AiJiang_ | aijiang.ca
Toshiya Kamei: toshiyakamei.wordpress.com
Sam W. Pisciotta: @silo34 | silo34.com
Nadine Aurora Tabing: @suchnadine | endian.me/writing.html
Kanishk Tantia: @t_kanishk | kanishkt.com
Aigner Loren Wilson: @ALWlikeahowl | aignerlwilson.com
David Lee Zweifler: @dzweifler | davidleezweifler.com

ETA: More names! (Keep ’em coming.)

ETA2: I’ll keep this and related posts in the series tag #astounding2023.

Comments

2 responses to “Some Astounding Award-eligible writers”

  1. 2023 Astounding-eligible authors: roundup #1 – A. P. Howell Avatar

    […] the original post for a full(er) list of eligible authors, and the #astounding2023 tag for more of these spotlight […]

    Like

  2. 2023 Astounding-eligible authors: roundup #2 – A. P. Howell Avatar

    […] the original post for a full(er) list of eligible authors, and the #astounding2023 tag for more of these spotlight […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: